Co-op People (1996)

    This document has been made available in electronic format
         by the International Co-operative Alliance ICA 
                         October, 1996

              (Source : ICA News 4-5/1996, pp.11)

                          Co-op People

Professor Ungku A. Aziz, the President of ANGKASA, has been
elected as the new Chair of the ICA Regional Assembly for Asia
and the Pacific for a period of two years, from June 1996.
Prof. Aziz was also re-elected as Chair of the ICA Committee
on Human Resource Development for Asia and the Pacific. Mohd.
Sahid Ullah, General Secretary of the Bangladesh National
Co-operative Union (BJSU) has been elected as the Vice-Chair
of the ICA Regional Assembly.

Dean Luis Damiles Carrillo has been elected as the Chair of
the National Confederation of Co-operatives Inc. (NATCCO),
Philippines, at their 1996 Congress and General Assembly from
May 28 - June 2. He succeeds Atty. Adolfo A. Ibanez. 

S. Chandra, Managing Director of Fishcopfed, India, has been
elected as Chair and H. Eddiwan of Indonesia as the Vice-Chair
of the ICA Fisheries Committee for Asia and the Pacific at its
21st meeting in Petaling Jaya, Malaysia on 10 June 1996. 

Lars Hillbom, ICA Vice President, Europe, has been appointed
as Head of the newly formed KF International Department. Jan
Ahlen,  Margareta Carlsson and Stig H. Lindhe are staffing the
department which will cover a number of new projects,
international relations, new business opportunities, and
relations with the European Union.

Akira Kurimoto from the Japanese Consumer Co-operative Union
has been elected Vice-chair of the ICA Research Committee in
addition to Lou Hammond Ketilson  from Saskatchewan University
Centre for the Study of Co-operatives and Yohanan Stryjan from
the Stockholm School of Business, Sweden.

Tan Kin Lian, CEO of NTUC INCOME and Chair of the ICMIF, has
been elected as the new Chairman of the Singapore National
Co-operative Federation (SNCF) at the 6th Triennial General
Assembly of the Federation on 21 September.

Tom Lyon, NCBA President, Russ Notar, CEO of NCBA & Ralph
Page, NCBA Board Member were appointed to the National
Agricultural Research, Extension, Education and Economic
Advisory Board of the United States Development Agency (USDA)
in September 1996. Lyon and Page have also been elected to the
nine-member executive committee.

Hiroshi Tanaka, Vice-President of the Japanese Consumers
Co-operative Union (JCCU), has been elected Chair of the ICA
Committee on Consumer Co-operation for Asia and the Pacific,
during its meeting held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on 12 June
1996, while Lim Ho Seng of Singapore has been re-elected as
the Vice-chair.

Terry Thomas, Managing Director of the UK Co-operative Bank,
has received an honorary degree (Doctor of Letters honoris
causa) from Salford University in recognition of his
contribution as an innovative Manchester-based businessman and
his work in furthering the partnership between business and


          Yves Regis,  Chairman of CICOPA and former
          President of C.G.S.C.O.P. (1974-1987) died on 
          9 September  1996, at the age of 76. His energy
          and dedication will be sorely missed. 

     The worker co-operative movement also lost another
     well-known co-operator in September, Bohdan Trampczynski,
     who died in Warsaw at the age of 83. He was a former
     president of the Central Union of Workers Co-operatives
     in Poland and another former Chairman of CICOPA.