Co-op People (1997)

This document has been made available in electronic
format by the International Co-operative Alliance (ICA)
April, 1997
(Source: ICA News, Issue No.2/1997)

                               CO-OP PEOPLE

On 24 February 1997, Dr. Ivan Prikryl was elected President 
of the Co-operative Association of the Czech Republic. His 
previous post was as the President of the Union of Czech and 
Moravian Housing Co-operatives.  

All  26 of Co-operative Party   candidates were successful in 
the recent UK general elections. Before the election on 1 May, 
there were 15 Co-operative Party MPs in Britain. There are also 
4 Co-operative Peers in the House of Lords, and 6 Co-operative 
Party Members of the European Parliament. The  following are 
new MPs: Dave Lepper  (Brighton Pavilion); Doug Naysmith  
(Bristol North West); Phil Hope (Corby);  Andy Love (Edmonton); 
Tony McWalter   (Hemel Hempstead); Jim Dobbin (Heywood & 
Middleton);  David Taylor (Leicestershire North West); Louise 
Ellman (Liverpool Riverside); Andy Reed (Loughborough); 
Linda Gilroy (Plymouth Sutton); David Drew (Stroud). The 
following were re-elected: Angela Smith (Basildon);Jon Owen 
Jones (Cardiff Central); Alun Michael (Cardiff South & Penarth); 
George Foulkes (Carrick, Cumnock & Doon Valley);  John McFall 
(Dumbarton); Alan Keen (Feltham & Heston); Ian Davidson 
(Glasgow Pollock); Tommy McAvo (Glasgow Rutherglen); 
Barry Sheerman (Huddersfield); Mike Gapes (Ilford South); 
Don Touhig \(Islwyn); Lewis Moonie (Kirkcaldy); Gordon 
McMaster (Paisley South); Ken Purchase (Wolverhampton 
North East); Dennis Turner   (Wolverhampton South East).

NCBA elected board members and officers to lead the 
membership association in the coming year.  Rod Nilsestuen, 
Ralph Paige, and Gonze Lee Twitty were elected to three-year 
terms the NCBA board of directors.  Andy Ferguson was 
elected to represent individual members on the NCBA board.  
The following officers were re-elected:  chair, Thomas Lyon;  
1st vice chair, David Miller;  2nd vice chair, Pete Crear;  
Secretary, Herb Levy;  and treasurer, Dr. Ann Hoyt.  Four 
others  elected to join these officers on the Executive are Ralph 
Paige, Joe Leiber, Jeff Stroburg, and James Van Houten. 
Board members also elected Harvey Sigelbaum, Gail Sokoloff 
and Michael Treadwell to serve on the board. John C. Fisher 
was elected to fill the two-year unexpired term of C. William 

In December 1997, Gabriella Sozanski was appointed Secretary 
of the ICA's European Council.

Corrigendum: it was Enzo Pezzini from CECOP, on the front 
page  of the last ICA News, making the intervention on the founding 
meeting of IHCO.