This document has been made available in electronic format by the International Co-operative Alliance (ICA) 

Report of the International Co-operative Agricultural Organisation to the General Assembly  (1998)

July, 1998
(Source: ICA Review, Vol.91 No.2 - Annual Report 1997-1998, pp. 44-45)


Executive Committee
Chairman:  Churll Hee Won (Korea) (from 28 May 1998)

Vice-Chairmen:  Dejandir Dalpasquale (Brazil); Jan Fencl (Czech Republic);      Mohamed Idris (Egypt)

Secretary:  Shil-Kwan Lee (Korea)

Associate Secretary: Won-Sik Noh (Korea)

The Executive Committee and the General Assembly of the Organization met  in Geneva, Switzerland on 17 September, 1997.

The focus of the General Assembly was a review of the preparations for a Seminar on agricultural inputs which was to be held on the 17-18 September, 1997. The objective of the Seminar was to examine the challenges and opportunities facing Cooperatives in fostering inter-co-operation in the area of agricultural inputs.  The Chairman reported that there were more than fifty registrants for the Seminar and that all invited speakers (who included representatives of the major agricultural input industries, consumer groups,
co-operative marketers and international organizations) had agreed to participate.

The Executive Committee meeting was dominated by administrative issues. It was led off by a Financial Report by the Secretary. This was followed by a substantive discussion on ICAO membership policy. The President tabled a paper prepared by the ICA secretariat which noted that there were a number of ICAO members which had not paid membership dues for several years.

The President suggested that he would contact all of the organizations identified by the secretariat indicating that the decision to delete them from membership would be on the agenda of the next meeting of the ICAO Executive Committee.  If he did not hear a positive response from them by that time it would be assumed that they did not wish to continue their membership in the ICAO.

The 1998 General Assembly of the ICAO was held in Manila, the Philippines on 28 May. Mr. Churll-Hee Won, the President of the National Agricultural Co-operative Federation(NACF) in Korea, was elected as the new President following Mr. Mario Dumais who had resigned as the President of ICAO in March 1998. Mr. Won nominated Mr. Shil-Kwan Lee, General Manager of the International Co-operation Office of the NACF for the Secreatary and Mr. Won-Sik Noh, Agricultural Co-operative Advisor of the ICA Head Office for the Associate Secretary of the Organization.