National Federation of Fishermen's Co-operatives (FISHCOPFED) has a new president (1997)

This document has been made available in electronic format by
the International Co-operative Alliance ICA
January, 1998
(Source: Asia-Pacific Co-op News,Vol.4, No.4,Oct.-Dec.,'98, p.4)

National Federation of Fishermen's Co-operatives (FISHCOPFED) 
has a new President

Dr. Prakash Ganapatrao Malgave was unanimously elected as the
President of National Federation of Fishermen's Co-operatives
(Fishcopfed) (India), at the special General Body Meeting held on
9th December, 1997.

A grassroots leader and real co-operator, Dr. Malgave represents the
aspirations of the younger generation in the fishery co-operative sector.
Dr. Malgave is also the chairman of the Bhandara Zilha Matsyavyavasai
Sahakari Sangh Ltd., Bhandara, Maharashtra. He has done pioneering
work in the field of fresh water prawn culture in the Vidarbha region of
Maharashtra State.

Mr.Bindeswar Sahani has been elected as the Vice President.

A conference of chairmen and chief executives of member institutions
of FISHCOPFED was also organised on 9 December, 1997. The
conference was inaugurated by Mr. B.S. Vishwanathan, President of
the National Co-operative Union of India and was presided over by
Mr. Y.P. Nishad, the President. Mr. Vishwanathan congratulated
FISHCOPFED for getting 'A' grade classification in its regular audits
since its inception. He stressed the need for co-operative education at
the grassroots level for the fisher members.

The conference was also addressed, apart from Mr. Y.P. Nishad, by
Mr. Bishambar Prasad Nishad, Shri Baburam Nishad, Dr. D.P.S.
Chauhan, etc. Mr. B.K. Mishra, Deputy Director, proposed a vote
of thanks.