This document has been made available in electronic format by the International Co-operative Alliance (ICA) 

What is ICBA (1998)

International Co-operative Banking Association (ICBA)

November 1998

The International Co-operative Banking Association was set up in 1922 by national co-operative banks and financial organisations:

* To exchange information;

* To promote co-operation among co-operative banks;

* To promote the development of new co-operative banks through advice and assistance;

* To research and study subjects of common interest, i.e. capital formation, co-operative values as applied to banking, etc.

Membership is open to all banks and central thrift and credit organisations through one of the six Regional Committees or by direct membership of the Central Executive. The ICBA had 68 member organisations from  40 countries in 1997.

The ICBA Central Executive maintains close contact with the Association of European Co-operative Banks in Brussels, and the World Council of Credit Unions (WOCCU).

ICA is an independent, non-governmental association which unites, represents and serves co-operatives worldwide. Founded in 1895, it now has 232 national members in 93 countries,plus four international members.

President:      Mr. Claude Béland
Confédération des Caisses Populaires et d'Economie Desjardins du Québec
100, avenue des Commandeurs
Levis, Québec G6V7N5
Tel: (1-418) 835 2444
Fax: (1-418) 833 4769

Secretary:      Mr. Ghislain Paradis
Vice-President, International Affairs
Same address as that for Chairman

Web Pages :

English  :
French   :
Spanish :
German :