The ICA Board

    This document has been made available in electronic format
         by the International Co-operative Alliance ICA 
                         October, 1996

     (Source: Review of International Co-operation,
     Vol.89, No.3/1996, p.8-11)

                         ICA BOARD

Graham Melmoth
elected ICA President at ICA's Centennial Congress in
Manchester last September, became Chief Executive Officer of
the Co-operative Wholesale Society in Manchester in 1996. He
is a Director of the Co-operative Bank, Unity Trust Bank and
Co-operative Press and was formerly ICA Vice-President for

Lars Hillbom  
born 17 February 1946, was elected ICA Vice-President for the
European Region in 1995. Board member of several ICA
specialised organisations, he is also Chairman for the ICA
European Council. Mr. Hillbom has been Head of the Swedish
Co-operative Union's International Relations Department since

Roberto Rodrigues
Roberto Rodrigues was born in Brazil in 1942 and became
Director of a sugar cane planters co-operative in 1971.  In
1985 he was elected President of the Organization of the
Brazilian Cooperativas (OCB) for two consecutive mandates
(1985 to 1991). He founded and presided over the EXIMCOOP
(1990-1993), a co-operative trading company. Elected
Vice-President for the Americas in 1992, he was also Chair of
the ICA's Agriculture Committee from 1992 to 1995. 

Hakaru Toyoda 
born 15 November 1926, he is Senior Adviser to the Central
Union of Agricultural Co-operatives as well as President of
Tochigi Prefectural Economic, Credit, Mutual Insurance and
Welfare Federations of the Agricultural Co-operatives. 
Chairman and member of different co-operative boards in Japan,
he replaced Mitsugu Horiuchi, as ICA Vice-President for Asia &
Pacific in 1994.

Hon. B. Wolimbwa, MP
was born on February 2, 1939 in the Mbale District of Uganda.
Since his graduation in 1969 has been a teacher, a coffee
farmer, co-operative leader and a politician. A Board member
of the Uganda Co-operative Bank Ltd and Chair of the Uganda
Co-operative Alliance Board  (UCA), he is also the Chairman of
the Regional Council for  the ICA Regional Office for East,
Central and Southern Africa.  


Ivano Barberini
was born in Modena on May 18, 1939 and has worked for the
Consumer Co-operative Movement since 1961. From 1979 to 1996
he was President of the National Association of Consumer
Co-operatives and President of Eurocoop since 1991. He has
been President of the National League of Co-operatives since
1996. He is substituting on the ICA Board for Giancarlo
Pasquini, who resigned in 1996 after being elected to the
Italian Senate.

Claude Beland 
born in Montreal, Quebec, in 1932, he has been President of
the Mouvement des caisses Desjardins and a member of the
Steering Committee of the International Raiffeisen Union since
1987. He is also a member of the ICA Board and President of
the International Co-operative Banking Association since 1995.

Yang Deshou
is Vice-President of the Supervisory Committee of the All
China Federation of Supply and Marketing  Co-operatives where
he has worked in various capacities since 1950. He has been a
member of the ICA Board since 1986 and served for the last two
years as Chairman of the Executive Council of the Asia and
Pacific Region.

Jens Heiser
born 30 September 1938, is Chairman of the Executive Committee
of Baugenossenschaft Dennerstrasse-Selbsthilfe eG and Member
of the Executive Committee of Gesamtverband der
Wohnungswirtschaft (GdW), the Federation of the German Housing
Industry. He is also Chairman of the Labour Unions of the
Hamburg Housing Industry.

Raija Itkonen
was born in Helsinki in 1939 and began her co-op career in
1964. She is responsible for international relations of the
Finnish Consumer Cooperative Association FCCA, has been a
member of the ICA Women's Committee since 1978, a member of
the ICA Board since 1984, and was Vice-President of the ICA
from 1991 to 1993.

Ota Karen
was born in 1931 and  has worked in the co-operative movement
since 1952. After partition of the Czechoslovak Federation,
Mr.Karen was elected President of the Co-operative Association
of the Czech Republic. Since 1990, he has also been a member
of the ICA Board and President of the COOP-Network. Since
September, 1995, he has been the Vice-President of ICA Europe.

David O. Miller
is a  Director of the Nationwide Insurance Company. He is on
the boards of several other Nationwide affiliates and
subsidiaries, including Farmland Insurance Company. A Director
of the National Cooperative Business Association and
Cooperative Business International, he has been a member the
ICA Board since 1993.

Holger Hasle Nielsen 
was born in Denmark in 1938 and began his career with the
Co-operative Movement in 1964. He has been Secretary General
of the Federation of Danish Co-ops since 1978 and has held a
number of positions on various committees and boards including
DANIDA and COGECA. He became a member of the ICA Board in

Yehudah Paz
was born in Brooklyn, New York, on 27 September 1931, and has
lived in Israel since October 1950. Currently Director of the
International Institute of the Histadrut, he is also Chairman
of the ICA Global Committee on Human Resource Development.  

Etienne Pflimlin 
was born 16 October 1941. He has served as President of Credit
Mutuel Centre East Europe and of the Banque Federative du
Credit Mutuel (BFCM) since 1985 as well as President of Credit
Mutuel since 1987, Vice-President of Groupement National de la
CoopThetaration since 1991 and Vice-President of IRU
(International Raiffeisen Union) since 1992. He is President
of the European Regional Committee of the International
Co-operative Banking Association (ICBA) and Vice-President of
the European Association of Co-operative Banks.

B.S. Vishwanathan 
was born in India in 1934 and has held a number of high
offices in the co-operative movement at State and National
levels. He became Vice-President of the Governing Council of
the National Co-operative Union of India in 1974 and served as
President from 1978 till 1981 and then from 1990 till the
present. He is also First Chairman of the National
Co-operative Bank of India. Mr. Vishwanathan is currently
Vice-Chair of ICBA and CICOPA and also serves on the Board of
the International Raiffeisen Union.